Run away to Shek O

This Sunday my friends and I went to Shek O and had a great time at the beach and hiking in the area.  It’s a bit of a trip from the New Territories to the far end of the HK Island, but it was completely worth it.  One of my local friends lives in Shek O Village (2 minute walk to the beach) and it is such an amazing place.  The beach area is a bit touristy of course, but the village itself has retained its beach town vibe.  It has narrow winding streets with crisscrossing alleyways and small houses that are full of character. Some parts have definitely been gentrified and have grandiose homes with multiple fancy cars in the driveway, but I fell in love with the small homes wedged between restaurants and the locals sitting in between the houses enjoying the weather and the company.  If I was going to become an expat in HK I think this is where I would want to live.  The atmosphere is great and so is the view!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Standard

Leave a comment